paperwork beginnings

We turned in our application on Friday.

I think my mind is a little freaked out at what a huge step it is that I’ve been having weird dreams all weekend. The first one I was pregnant and then in the dream when I realized that I couldn’t possibly be pregnant, let’s just say that things didn’t go so well. The other dream Santa Claus was real and he stopped caring about Christmas because people didn’t believe so I had to help him out with that (I don’t know how, but I thought buying him a copy of Penthouse would help him believe again – HA!). Was anyone else scared at what a huge step it is? It just looks so big (the whole process) from where I’m standing. It’s like I’m looking at the other side of this huge canyon and I think “I want to be over there” and I’m all excited about being there and I run and jump and look down and think, “wow, that’s a huge canyon, how the heck can I get to the other side.”

But my original point was that I finally turned in our application. Yay.

8 responses to “paperwork beginnings

  1. Congratulations on turning in your application!.I’m really a believer in making lists of what needs to be done. It seems to make me feel better when I can see the list getting shorter.Take care and good luck with everything.

  2. Waiting For Baby!

    I have had some very off-the-wall dreams.

    At one point, I bring home this baby (even in my dream she is asian) and I have nothing but a few outfits for her.

    In another dream she comes home, and again, very unprepared.

    The unprepared dreams are most frequent.

    Now this next dream was when we were planning on Guatemala. It is a very disgusting dream in the sense that it is SO morally and ethically wrong. But I will tell you anyway!

    I am on my way to the store when I see my mom in line with a baby that she is buying. (a real life baby) she says she has the last caucasian baby, but there is one baby left. My sister is also in line buying a baby. So I go back and there is this sweet asian baby sitting in her carseat on the shelf in the pet shop, and the sign above says that tbe babies are $100 off. So I think to myself, would DH be angry at me, I am saving $100?

    Needless to say, I woke up absolutely mortified that I had such a dream, and at that point, I knew I was reading too many adoption horror threads about people asking how much your baby cost.

  3. mommy magallanes

    Thank you for the well wishes ange! I’m a list person too. I like to see exactly what needs to happen.

    What a dream, waiting for baby!! It’s weird that dreams can make us feel this way.
    I’ve heard those same horror stories and still can’t wrap my head around why.

  4. This is great. I keep telling myself, just breath. I think it seems a little overwhelming because it’s such a huge decision (sp?), but you’ll do just fine. In my dreams I’ll usually running through the streets of Vietnam (or what I imagine them to be) trying to find my baby. Back to my point, congrats on getting one more thing done. 🙂

  5. It’s definitely a big step, but you can do it, just by putting one foot in front of the other. Make (or hopefully your agency will provide you with) a good checklist, and you’ll be fine!

  6. Yay! Congrats on this step:)

    Add me to the group of folks with vivid/strange dreams…I just recently dreamed I was 6 mo pregnant (keep in mind that I am single) and that I couldn’t feel it move so I was devastated that something might be wrong with the baby…where did that come from?!?!

    Anyways, congrats! I look forward to following your journey…and hopefully someday (soon) I will be turing in my app too:)

  7. That is great that you got your application off. I have had so really weird adoption dreams as well. Thanks for the advice on the attachment parenting. I really appreciate it!!

  8. Congratulations in taking such a big step! I hope your dreams some soon!

Leave a Reply

