Back In

It’s 11pm and we’re finally home from a long day of a lot of new year’s stuff. It all started with prayers at Temple, and ended with me winning 5 bucks playing one round of blackjack, so all in all a good day.

My eyes are still sore from being exposed to all the smoke from the tons of incense burned. I prayed for guidance and support for our adoption journey; I made sure to specify not just for the journey to our child, but after as well. Chloe got touched by the monk to get rid of her shyness. To my surprise, she wasn’t scared. He just touched her cheek and the top of her head. Chloe’s fortune said she would have peacefulness this year. My fortune said that my husband and I will be there for each other. And Steven’s said that we would support each other. Very happy about all that.

Aside from Temple, our day was filled with visiting. Visiting everyone. This is why people’s new year celebrations can last 3 days or 2 weeks. All the visiting.

_________________________
One day I remember my sister telling our mom that she wants to celebrate new year’s with her daughters but because she doesn’t have very many Chinese places by where she lives, she said that she can’t expose them to it all. Mom thought about it and told her, “the most important thing is being with your family. Go visit all of your family and spend time with them.”

That is new year.

So, to all of you, I wish you a happy new year; I wish you a day full of and a year full of family and friends – because that is what is important.

3 responses to “Back In

  1. Happy New Year to you too. Sounds like you had a blast.

    Stephanie

  2. Thank you for sharing all of your family’s New Year’s traditions, I have loved learning about it!

  3. Gung Hay Fat Choy to you and yours!! : )

Leave a Reply

