A Change I Can Believe In

I don’t often submerge myself in politics.  It’s not the hugest interest in my life.  This election feels different.  I’ve lived the majority of my adult life in the Bush, Jr era, and I’ve lived the majority of it just ticking down the days until he’s finally out of my white house.  I have been running towards this election gearing up for finally being behind this Bush, Jr era – no matter who or how.  It’s over.  And for that I am glad beyond words.

I started out just waiting for a new president.  I was on the fence between Clinton and Obama, knowing that anyone would be better than who we have now.  Much to the horror of my very Republican father :), the more that I hear from Barack Obama, the more excited I get.  It’s no longer just about getting rid of Bush (though, what a huge dead weight off of our shoulders).  It’s about change.  It’s about hope.  It’s become about a better future – a future for my family, a future that I can be proud to raise my children in.  He is more in line with everything I believe America can be and should be than any other candidate has ever been.  I just can’t believe that Clinton will bring about the change that Obama will.  I like Clinton okay.  But I am excited about Obama.  I am excited for this time in history.  And, let’s face it, Michelle Obama is a kickass woman.  She is someone, in the public eye, that I would love for my children to look up to. 

I’ve watched this video a couple of times, but my favorite part of this video is the last 6 or 7 minutes where he talks about hope.  We are beginning an amazing era.

One response to “A Change I Can Believe In

  1. 3continentfamily

    I’m with you! I’m glad he’s not incredibly tainted by DC yet. I think it’s wonderful how much he is inspiring people of all walks of life.

Leave a Reply

