What is your Dream?

One of the first questions our students are asked when they enroll at our school is, “what is your dream”? 

I work in the corporate office, but I love visiting our schools, like I am today, for that very reason – our push for our students to dream.

I’m in a room by myself waiting for state testing to start.  I thought I would share some of the quotes hanging on the walls beside me, beside the many school projects proudly displayed on the same walls.

All your life you are told the things you cannot do.  All your life they will say you are not good enough or strong enough or talented enough; they will say you’re the wrong height or the wrong weight or the wrong type to play this or be this or acheive this.  THEY WILL TELL YOU NO, a thousand times no, until all the no’s become meaningless.  All your life they will tell you no, quite firmly and very quickly.

AND YOU WILL TELL THEM YES.

and this:

Our lives are not determined by what happens to us but by how we react to what happens, not by what life brings to us, but by the attitude we bring to life.  A positive attitude causes a chain reaction of positive thoughts, events, and outcomes.  It is a catalyst, a spark that creates extraordinary results.

There are also the definitions for success and dream up on the walls.

 

3 responses to “What is your Dream?

  1. 3continentfamily

    How cool. I loved reading those, today especially 🙂

  2. I get the philosophy of the first quote, but kind of gives me a chuckle because it reminds me of all of the really awful singers who audition for American Idol and then stand there and argue with the judges about how great they are when they are clearly, hideously AWFUL!

  3. That first one I have to find somewhere – that is so my life. I absolutely love it and want to teach it to my children.

Leave a Reply

