An Exciting Edge

I’m back home.  Safe.  Sound.  Rested with a much lighter wallet.  Vegas was, like always, spectacular.  Photoshop World was beyond any and all of my very high expectations.  That said, there is nothing like being home with my family.

So let’s learn some stuff because I am just itching to practice everything that I managed to shove into my brain.  I’m going to start with this one since it’s the one that I think was best too:

I’m going to use a different photo to show you how to do it.  A photo easier to see.  Here’s the after shot:

I’ll let you see the before shot and we’ll get to work on creating this.

I’ve tried this on shots that have busy backgrounds and it just doesn’t look as good, so I choose a shot that was relatively clean.  First you’re going to open your picture in photoshop. You’re going to create a new layer (you can use the little icon circled) and fill it.  The color doesn’t matter; I filled it with white and positioned it where I wanted.

Next step is to go to Layer – Distort – Diplace, as seen in the picture below.

This will bring up a dialog box.  When you click Ok, it will want you to find a texture to use.  Select one of your own or use the textures that came with CS3 (I wrote the path that it was located on my computer).

You can choose a texture and repeat the step to put in another texture.  I did this step three times, here are the results.

Take your cursor and place it on the layer 1 icon box thing – I have no clue what it’s called – click on cntrl and that box thing.  It should have selected the fill layer so that you have dancing ants on that part of the photo.

Now delete your fill layer, layer 1 (you can drag it onto the trash can icon or just click on the trash icon when it’s highlighted).  Create a duplicate layer of the original photo layer.  You can do this by dragging the original layer to the new layer icon – circled in orange – or by right clicking on the layer and choosing “duplicate layer.”  Next create a layer mask – click on your copied layer so that it is highlighted, then click on the layer mask icon – circled in black.  Right click on your new copy/mask layer and choose blending options to add a drop shadow.

Now click on the original background layer.  Click the adjustments layer icon circled in black and choose “curves.”  The curves dialog box will come up.  Drag the top part of the line down.  This will darken all around the layer mask.  Pull it down until you are satisfied with the results, and you can always change it later if you want.

Click on the copy/mask layer.  Now go to Layer – Layer Style – Create Layer.  Now you have your drop shadow layer on a new layer.  Highlight both the drop shadow layer and the curves layer (using the cntrl key and clicking the both).  Drag them down to the group icon circled.

Create a layer mask for the new group by clicking on the layer mask icon.

Here’s where the fun begins!  Choose a brush, make sure it is black, and start brushing off the parts you want to pop off the picture.  Black will pop it out; white will put it back.

And you’re done.  I hope this helps.  It’s exactly from one of the classes I took, as I haven’t had time to experiment with it yet, but I do love this effect.

2 responses to “An Exciting Edge

  1. Oh, love this trick!! Hmmm… what photo can I do this too?! [off to find one…]

Leave a Reply

