No More Christmas Shopping for Me

Ha!  I’m done with my Christmas shopping.  Well, technically I’m done.  I still have photobooks to make for the grandparents and then I’ll be officially done.  However, I think I can safely say that I’m done because all the kids have gifts sitting in our closet, including Santa’s gifts to Chloe.  So – HA!

I know I haven’t had much to say, been too focused on nanowrimo.  I’m at 8,784 words.  If I do an average of just over 2,000 words a day I’ll win. It’s just been fun.

Chapter 3 excerpt:

Living for centuries you got used to the everyday life. Day in and day out was the same routine. At times I trained new demons, but even that had become monotonous. Almost nothing surprised me anymore, almost nothing excited me anymore. Okay, Caitlyn was an oddity, but she was more annoying than exciting. If she would hurry up with her training I could get her out of my guest room and then she’ll be her boss’ problem.

I sipped on my wine, waiting for the violent parts of the movie. It was the newest demon thriller and nothing would help me feel better after the day I’ve had than watching vampires tear some humans to shreds. Demons often made movies about vampires, not oblivious to the connection with living off of the humans. Though they were often more violent than a human vampire movie.

My boss, Lex, popped in front of me right at the good part. The vampire had just ripped right into the idiot girl’s juicy throat.

“Hey, he was about to kill her!” I wailed, disappointment ran through me as I realized my night was problem not taking a turn for the better. Lex never showed up, always preferring to give his orders telepathically. He was a demon boss for a reason and wasn’t known for his kindness.

He looked down on me, eyes burning red with anger. I knew I went just over too far. “What did you say?” he asked.

I cleared my throat. “I thanked you for gracing me with your presence, of course.” To top it off nicely I gave a smile. He didn’t buy it for a second, but was too distracted to strike. I noticed then that I wasn’t dressed for a fight. A thin cotton tank top, sweat pants, and no boots just weren’t going to cut it if I was going to be in a fight, which, with Lex, was a high possibility.

It was then that I noticed he had someone with him. I eyed him suspiciously. He didn’t feel good; I didn’t like the feeling coming off of him. My nose wrinkled in disgust. It wasn’t his looks. He was a very calm spirit, standing still while I looked him up and down clearly assessing him. His hair was a deep walnut brown, warm and inviting. It didn’t stop there, as my eyes slid down to meet his gaze I found emerald-colored eyes that didn’t look away. Slacks and a nice button down shirt is all he wore, apparently preferring to go barefoot. It didn’t match the outfit but it fit him somehow. The mass amounts of confidence he held was apparent, but not annoyingly so like Lex. If he would only get rid of all the positive energy surrounding him, he would definitely be someone I could be around if only to look at him. I looked him over again, noting that he held my stare without fear. Okay, I would definitely do more than just look at him.

I turned my attention back to Lex, smiling into his icy blue eyes, “Did you bring me a toy to play with?” I hoped.

Lex snorted with laughter. His guest grunted in disapproval.

Lex addressed me, “Abhilasa, darling, I have another job for you. This one will need your special attention. Oh, and, this will be your partner, Dominic.” He gestured with indifference to the disturbing guardian who was mucking up my house with his positive energy. Having him near me all the time with all that positive energy oozing off of him was simply not happening, no matter how good he looked.

“Excuse me? I don’t think so!” I had had my fill of partners that were messing up my energy sucking business. There was no way I was going to let in a guardian. They were both towering above me and since I didn’t have my boots on, I jumped up onto the couch so that I wouldn’t have to look up at them. I could feel the heat on my face as my blood started to boil.

I tried to calm myself so I didn’t anger my boss, but stayed on the couch. “Lex, whatever the job is, I can take care of it myself,” I assured him.

Lex stopped and stared at me with obvious contempt. “Are you challenging me?” His voice was icy and I knew I had gone too far.

I grabbed my wine glass, swallowed all of it in one gulp, and then threw it across the room. It shattered against my entertainment center. I knew there was no denying Lex his demand that I work with the guardian who was just pouring positive energy all over my home. I was going to have to disinfect the place.

signature-copy

3 responses to “No More Christmas Shopping for Me

  1. 3continentfamily

    Where do you find the time to be done with shopping, be a mommy AND nanowrimo?! I’m impressed, chica.

  2. You’re seriously going to need to consider becoming a novelist at some point! Does this stuff just “flow” for you!?

    I can’t believe you are down with holiday shopping…

  3. Wow, give this girl a medal or at least a cookie or something. I don’t think I’m ever done with Christmas shopping until like December 23rd! Great going.

Leave a Reply

