It Makes Me Feel Dirty

You’re sitting in your car, driving to work, talking to your husband about school picture day.  The radio is on and you’re only half listening.  A commericial for a dating site comes on when you think you hear:

 

Are you in a relationship and need something more?

 

“Did she just say what I *think* she said?” – that was screamed at my husband while the lady on the commercial promised annonimity. 

That’s right.  I have now officially heard it all – and quite frankly, I’m DONE.  I’m out.  No more for me.  What the hell is happening? 

Let me explain, as I seeth from remembering the rest of the commercial.  It is a website similar to other dating websites where you go to meet people to hook up, only it caters to those already in a relationship or marriage that want to have an AFFAIR. 

A website for cheating bastards (*ie. A Married Dating and Affairs Club*).  Nice.

 

Specializes in meeting the distinct needs of attached and married women wishing to meet single or attached men with a mutual desire to share novelty, risk, and

You really don’t need to hear more, do you?  *sigh*

Unfortunately, I grew up listening to horror stories about my mom’s first husband – who did many horrible things to her including cheating on her (just one of many bad stories:   she was in labor and was driving to the hospital and saw him in the car in front of her while he was on a date).  And then I watched as my sister’s marriage tore apart due to infidelity (two years of cheating on her before she found out).   I’ve seen marriages that can be patched back together – with lots of hard work for both partners – after an affair.   Having an affair is serious stuff, and can permantely damage lives of the person cheating, the person being cheated on, the CHILDREN.  

We’re not talking about an open relationship, we’re talking about encouraging cheating – promising annonimity.  Disgusting.  I know people cheat.  It’s going to happen.  But tell me that this isn’t just plain dirty – making it sound perfectly okay to seek this huge “risk” outside of your marriage.  This is just pissing me off.  Seriously, they know it’s wrong or they wouldn’t promote the promise of it being annoymous.

 

It’s horrible, and to make a business encouraging something like that is just outright disgusting.

5 responses to “It Makes Me Feel Dirty

  1. Oh. my. gosh! Maybe you could get a petition or a letter writing campaign going to let the radio station know that if they don’t pull the add they will lose lots of listeners? There is probably a special level of hell for the people who started that business. Going off of what little I remember from reading Dante, I’d say an eternity of sex with someone who has festering “private” boils, crabs, and halitosis would be about right.

  2. 3continentfamily

    speechless…seriously??? Nice of them to encourage the destroying of families.

  3. Ummmm…. what?!?! No words can even express my disbelief. I second Kerry… nice.

  4. I heard they wanted to advertise on the Super Bowl and NBC turned them down. I wish your radio station had the same good sense..

  5. NO WAY!!!! I am FUMING. That is beyond disgusting, amoral, and just plain slimy. It’s amazing how many dirtballs there are in this world, ya know?! Ugh.

Leave a Reply

